I write the Kitty Peck books published by Faber and Faber.

The first in the series (and my first ever novel), Kitty Peck and the Music Hall Murders, came out in 2013. It was the winner of the Faber / Stylist magazine crime writing competition. In 2014 it was shortlisted for a ‘Dagger’ award as one of The Crime Writers’ Association top five Historical books of the year.

It had some very kind reviews…



The sequel, Kitty Peck  and the Child of Ill Fortune, was published in July 2015.


And also: http://www.crimefictionlover.com/2015/07/kitty-peck-and-the-child-of-ill-fortune/

I’ve just finished book three, Kitty Peck and the Daughter of Sorrow which will be published in November 2016,

Kitty’s world is Victorian London; Limehouse c1880. It’s no coincidence that more than 100 years ago my mother’s family lived in the same area. The books are set amidst  the tawdry glitter of an imagined music hall and the squalid backstreets of  the docks in the East End where the world and his wife shipped up on London’s shores.

If you take your crime with a swirl of opium smoke and a dash of gothic melodrama laced with gin, read on….

Follow me on twitter @KateAGriffin or contact me here:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s